How much does a manual lathe cost in the UK?
Thirteen real UK listings — and why the same Colchester costs £1,900 from one seller and £5,500 from another.
A small bench or hobby lathe — Myford, Atlas, Boxford — runs roughly £700 to £1,750. A workshop centre lathe such as a Colchester Student or Harrison M250 runs roughly £1,900 to £5,500. A larger gap-bed machine runs roughly £3,450 to £9,950.
Those ranges overlap because, as below, the same model trades at very different money depending on who is selling it.
UK manual lathe prices, cheapest first
Thirteen live UK listings retrieved on 28 October 2026 from one dealer and one private-advert site, sorted by price. Whether a row is dealer stock or a private sale is stated, because that turns out to be the main thing the price is telling you.
| Machine as listed | Asking price | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Atlas 10in lathe, single phase, used dealer stock | £700.00 VAT not stated | traceymachinery.co.uk |
| Myford lathe, single phase, used dealer stock | £1,200.00 VAT not stated | traceymachinery.co.uk |
| Myford Super 7 lathe, well-equipped, on maker's stand, private sale, Dawlish Devon | £1,250.00 VAT not stated | lathes.co.uk |
| Colchester Master 2500 lathe, used dealer stock | £1,500.00 VAT not stated | traceymachinery.co.uk |
| Boxford AUD Mk.2 lathe, 4.5in x 24in, screwcutting gearbox, power cross feed, 8 spindle speeds 40-1400rpm, private sale, Torbay | £1,750.00 VAT not stated | lathes.co.uk |
| Colchester 1800 Student lathe, private sale, Stourbridge | £1,900.00 VAT not stated | lathes.co.uk |
| Harrison M250 lathe, used dealer stock | £2,450.00 VAT not stated | traceymachinery.co.uk |
| Chester Crusader lathe, single phase, used dealer stock | £2,450.00 VAT not stated | traceymachinery.co.uk |
| Baileigh PL-1340E gap bed lathe, single phase, used dealer stock | £3,450.00 VAT not stated | traceymachinery.co.uk |
| Colchester Mascot 1600 x 60in gap bed lathe, used dealer stock | £3,500.00 VAT not stated | traceymachinery.co.uk |
| Colchester Triumph 2000 x 50in gap bed lathe, used dealer stock | £4,800.00 VAT not stated | traceymachinery.co.uk |
| Colchester Student 1800 lathe, used dealer stock (refurbished) | £5,500.00 VAT not stated | traceymachinery.co.uk |
| Colchester Mastiff 1400 gap bed lathe, 21in x 40in gap-bed capacity, 32in swing in gap, 3.5in spindle bore, 2-axis DRO, serial T-02872 | £9,950.00 VAT not stated | traceymachinery.co.uk |
Sources named per row: traceymachinery.co.uk for dealer stock and store.lathes.co.uk for private adverts, retrieved 28 October 2026. Asking prices, not sold prices. None of these listings states a VAT position.
The channel sets the price, not the model name
Two listings in the table are the same lathe by name. One is a private sale, one is dealer stock.
| Item | Published price |
|---|---|
| Colchester 1800 Student — private sale, Stourbridge | £1,900.00 |
| Colchester Student 1800 — dealer stock, refurbished | £5,500.00 |
That is roughly 2.9 times the money for the same model name. The difference is refurbishment, a warranty, and someone to go back to if the headstock is tired — none of which a private advert offers.
Neither price is wrong. They are answers to different questions. If you can inspect a lathe, run it under power and recognise a worn bed when you see one, the private market is where the value is. If you cannot, or if the machine has to earn from the week it arrives, the dealer premium is buying you exactly that.
The same spread shows up across the table: a Myford at £1,200 as dealer stock against a well-equipped Myford Super 7 on its maker’s stand at £1,250 privately, and a Colchester Master 2500 at £1,500 against a Colchester Mascot 1600 at £3,500. Model names alone will not let you price this market.
Bed wear, measured near the headstock where it is worst. Spindle condition and bore size. Whether the screwcutting gearbox and power feeds all work through their range. What tooling comes with it — chucks, faceplate, steadies, a toolpost and holders can be worth more than the difference between two machines. And the phase: see below.
The costs that are not in the asking price
- Three-phase power. Several of these machines are explicitly single phase, which tells you the rest are not. A three-phase lathe in a single-phase workshop needs an inverter or converter before it turns a single cut, and that is a real cost on a £1,500 machine.
- Moving it. A Colchester gap-bed is well over a tonne. Getting it off a lorry, through a door and levelled on a floor that will take it is a specialist job, and it is not in the advert.
- Tooling. A lathe with no chuck is not a working lathe. Tooling is described inconsistently across these adverts — one is listed as “well-equipped”, most say nothing — so establish what is included before comparing two prices.
- A digital readout, if you want one. One machine in the table advertises a 2-axis DRO as a feature. Retrofitting one is a separate purchase.
- VAT, unstated. None of the thirteen listings states a VAT position. Dealer stock will normally carry VAT; a private sale usually will not, which narrows the real gap between the two channels somewhat but does not close it.
What would it cost a month?
Put the price in ex VAT where you can confirm it, since that is what a funder normally advances. The calculator quotes a flat rate with the equivalent APR beside it.
Prime is an established, profitable business with clean credit. Specialist covers newer businesses and credit that needs explaining — the asset itself carries part of the risk, which is why finance is often available where an unsecured loan is not.
Representative example: on Hire Purchase, borrowing £10,000 over 48 months at a 5.15% flat rate (equivalent to 9.9% APR representative), you would repay around £251 a month; total amount repayable approximately £12,060, of which £2,060 is the cost of finance. This calculator is for illustration only — it is not a quote or an offer of finance, and the rate and repayments you are offered will depend on the asset, term, deposit and your circumstances. CW Asset Finance is a credit broker, not a lender, and will receive a commission from the lender that funds your agreement. All finance is subject to status, affordability and lender approval.
Rates shown are indicative flat rates with the equivalent APR alongside — the two are not the same number. Indicative only and does not constitute a quote or an offer of finance. Subject to status and lender approval.
Common questions
How much does a manual lathe cost in the UK?
From 13 live UK listings retrieved in October 2026, a small bench or hobby lathe runs roughly £700 to £1,750 — an Atlas 10in at £700, a Myford at £1,200, a Myford Super 7 at £1,250 and a Boxford AUD Mk.2 at £1,750. A workshop centre lathe such as a Colchester Student or a Harrison M250 runs roughly £1,900 to £5,500. Larger gap-bed machines run £3,450 to £9,950, the top figure being a Colchester Mastiff 1400 with a 2-axis digital readout. These are asking prices and none states a VAT position.
Why is the same lathe model so much cheaper privately?
Because you are buying a different proposition. A Colchester 1800 Student sold privately in Stourbridge is £1,900; a dealer-refurbished Colchester Student 1800 is £5,500. That is about 2.9 times the price for the same model name. The dealer figure includes refurbishment, a warranty and recourse if something is wrong. The private figure includes none of those, and the machine is sold as it stands. If you can assess bed wear and spindle condition yourself the private market is where the value is; if the machine has to work reliably from day one, the dealer premium is buying precisely that.
Will I need three-phase power?
Quite possibly, and it is the most commonly missed cost on this asset class. Several listings in our table specify single phase as a selling point, which tells you the majority of used industrial lathes are three phase. If your workshop is single phase you will need a variable frequency drive or a rotary converter before the machine runs, and on a £1,500 lathe that can be a meaningful share of the purchase again. Check the motor plate before you buy, not after.
Is a manual lathe worth financing?
It can be, and it is more common than people expect at this end of the market. Even a £5,500 machine is a capital purchase that will work for years, and spreading it over the period it earns rather than taking it out of working capital in one go is the usual reasoning — particularly if you are buying tooling and sorting power supply at the same time. Terms on machine tools typically run 12 to 72 months, with most agreements between 24 and 60. Equipment bought for a business is normally unregulated business lending.
Where to next
- Manual lathe finance — terms, deposits and the lender panel for machine tools.
- How much does a CNC machine cost? — where the market is largely price-on-application.
- CNC and machine tool finance — the main page.
CW Asset Finance is a credit broker, not a lender, and will receive a commission from the lender that funds your agreement. Prices on this page are third-party published asking and list prices, attributed to their sources and correct at the date of retrieval; they are indicative, are not sold prices, and are not a quote or an offer of finance. VAT basis is stated per row because the sources differ. All finance is subject to status, affordability and lender approval. Tax and VAT treatment depends on your circumstances and is a matter for your accountant.
Get your quote
Tell us what you’re looking to fund and Conor will come back to you personally — usually the same day. No credit check to enquire.